Starting Over

This seems an appropriate title for this post as it’s been a while since I last posted. But it really refers to the fact that I’ve written 30,000 words of my newest novel and realised that I could improve it greatly by starting with a new focus. It means a large, though not total rewrite.
A few years ago I might have been upset at having to jettison all that work. Now I am delighted. This is because I know that the novel will be much better for the change. I think it also says something about the way I approach my writing.
I’ve learned an immense amount from writing the novels I have, by reading some wonderful new work and by becoming involved in a very creative editing process with my Lake Union editors.
The new book? I’m not going to say much about it – in case I have to make even more fundamental changes. But it’s set way back in the past, nearly 4,000 years ago. Not a Norman, Saxon or Viking in sight.
Talking of Normans and Saxons, the fourth book in my The Lost King series has just been published. It’s called In Search of Glory and can be found here:

The first three books are now available in paperback as well.

Glory - Kindle
And, if you’re wondering if I’m totally immersed in the ancient world you might be interested to know that a second book about Alice Petherton will be published in late January 2016. You can pre-order it now by following this link:

Like a Queen.01
Finally, as the year wends to a close, huge thanks to everyone who has bought my books, written reviews, encouraged and cheered me and become my friend. I really appreciate it.
Happy holidays everyone.


About Martin Lake

Martin Lake lives in the French Riviera with his wife. After studying at the University of East Anglia he worked as a teacher, trainer and company director. A serious accident shattered his arm and meant that he had to rein back his work. He decided to concentrate on writing and is now writing full-time. He writes a wide range of fiction. His main interests are historical fiction, short stories and fiction for young adults. Martin has a series of novels 'The Lost King' which are set in the years following the Norman Invasion of England. They concern Edgar Atheling, last representative of the ancient English royal dynasty and his fight to regain the throne from William the Conqueror. Martin has also published 'Artful' the further adventures of the Dodger and 'Outcasts' a novel about fall of the Crusader Kingdom of Jerusalem. His latest novel, 'A Love Most Dangerous' is about a maid of honour who becomes the lover of Henry VIII. Martin’s work has been broadcast on radio. He won first prize in the Kenneth Grahame Society competition to write a story based on 'The Wind in the Willows.' You can get the collection, 'The Wind in the Willows Short Stories' from Amazon.
This entry was posted in A Love Most Dangerous, Alice Petherton, Amazon, Historical fiction, The Lost King, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Starting Over

  1. That’s great Martin! All the best with your writing in 2016. It’s always a pleasure to read one of your books. 🙂

  2. E S Moxon says:

    Excited for you Martin! I love it when a book takes a new direction. It can be seen as a lot of work, but if you can see that it will result in a better book in the end, it’s worth toiling over. Writing in a new era will also be thrilling! Can’t wait to hear more. Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s