Over the cliff

In David Lodge’s excellent book ‘A Man of Parts,’ he tells how his protagonist HG Wells felt unsettled and out of sorts when he had finished a novel.  I can well understand it.

I have just finished work on ‘Outcasts’, my novel about the fall of Jerusalem to Saladin and I feel equally unsettled and out of sorts.

HG Wells’ normal solution was to find some young woman to seduce.  Me; I’m going to see ‘The Hobbit’ with my wife, Janine.

It is a strange phenomenon this feeling.  I imagine it’s how characters like Wile E. Coyote feel when he’s chased the Road Runner and finds himself over the edge of the cliff.  He looks down at the abyss below and turns to the camera with a look of saddened resignation.  Those seconds while he stands there, poised in the air, no longer with feet on the ground, are how I feel now.

The solution, of course, is to get down to writing again.  I’m fortunate in that I have already written seventy thousand words of my new novel, ‘The Lost King: Warrior’.  I paused in the writing of this to do the editing of ‘Outcasts.’

I thought I’d done with editing for a while but, of course, as I’m re-reading the new book I find myself tidying it up as I go.  Not, perhaps, the best way to get an overarching view of the novel but I seem to be in editing mode so I might as well go with it.

But in the meanwhile, I have an appointment with Mr Bilbo Baggins.

About Martin Lake

Martin Lake lives in the French Riviera with his wife. After studying at the University of East Anglia he worked as a teacher, trainer and company director. A serious accident shattered his arm and meant that he had to rein back his work. He decided to concentrate on writing and is now writing full-time. He writes a wide range of fiction. His main interests are historical fiction, short stories and fiction for young adults. Martin has a series of novels 'The Lost King' which are set in the years following the Norman Invasion of England. They concern Edgar Atheling, last representative of the ancient English royal dynasty and his fight to regain the throne from William the Conqueror. Martin has also published 'Artful' the further adventures of the Dodger and 'Outcasts' a novel about fall of the Crusader Kingdom of Jerusalem. His latest novel, 'A Love Most Dangerous' is about a maid of honour who becomes the lover of Henry VIII. Martin’s work has been broadcast on radio. He won first prize in the Kenneth Grahame Society competition to write a story based on 'The Wind in the Willows.' You can get the collection, 'The Wind in the Willows Short Stories' from Amazon.
This entry was posted in Historical fiction, Outcasts, The Lost King, Writer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Over the cliff

  1. I understand the feeling of loss when a project is done. That’s why my trilogy is composed of four books at the moment 🙂

  2. Elaine Jeremiah says:

    Hi Martin.
    I can definitely understand how you feel. Having worked on your novel for so long, it’s a strange feeling to in a sense say goodbye to it as you’ve now finished it and not working on it anymore. I’ve already started planning my next novel, which is going well and I actually really enjoy the planning stage. I hope your work on your current novel goes well too. Seventy thousand words already is impressive! How was The Hobbit? I’m hoping to see that at some point soon.

    Happy writing!
    Elaine.

  3. Thanks for your comment, Elaine. I’m writing the new novel on Scrivener which is giving me added excitement. It’s good and is proving a great boon though it slowed me down at the start. Glad to hear about your new novel. What about the first one? Where is it available? I’d love to get it.

    As for the Hobbit, I loved it. I loved The Lord of the Rings and this is every bit as good. Better than the book which I never liked as much as the trilogy. Let me know what you think of it.

    Martin

Leave a Reply

