Talking with Gordon Doherty and Myself.

Here are two more extracts from talks with writers.  The first is from my talk with Gordon Doherty.  The second, to round out the number of extracts, is from an interview I gave to Ty Johnston.

First, Gordon.

Martin: When did you first know that you wanted to be a writer?  Was there a specific event that made you decide?

Gordon: Tolon, Greece, summertime 2004: gazing out over the Aegean at dusk, I envisioned a dusk raid by a fleet of triremes. I could see the armoured hoplites dropping onto the shore, I could hear their armour rippling as they rushed across the hinterland and I could sense the fear of those defending, higher up the beach. Then I stopped for a moment and thought; ‘Damn, I miss writing stories. Why did I ever stop?’

In my childhood, as a means of storytelling, I would (badly) mimic my elder brother’s excellent skills as a cartoonist. Then I started to write stories with the odd illustration every few pages. Finally, the pictures disappeared altogether as I turned to traditional short story writing. A misspent youth meant I wrote little more than angst-ridden poetry and songs for many years after that. It was a few years after I eventually settled down into a ‘normal’ career that I reached that epiphany moment in Tolon.

What would be a typical writing day for you?  Do you have set times, spaces, routines or rituals?

As soon as I wake up, my mind starts turning over the next chapter, the next plot rework, the next revision. Actually, I’m lucky if I don’t have writing dreams (I did actually have a nightmare about publishing a story where the Roman protagonist had a USB key)! What I’m trying to say is that it’s easy for writing to dominate every heartbeat of your day. So, I try to be disciplined and channel my efforts into ‘blocks’ of writing time. I’ll go into the spare room which doubles as my office, close the door (very important) and set my Pomodoro timer for thirty minutes . . . then I write.

What’s been your favourite moment in your writing career?

Legionary has a dedication to my late aunt. When I gave a copy to my uncle, and saw how much it meant to him, that made all the hard work and long hours worth it.

 Finally, here’s a part of my talk with Ty Johnston.

Ty: you write quite a bit of historical fiction. What draws you to such literature? More specifically, you’ve written about English history soon after the Battle of Hastings, so what drew you to that particular period?

Martin: I love history and I love literature.  One morning, I had the idea of fusing my two passions and writing historical fiction.  About this time I also discovered George MacDonald Fraser’s Flashman novels and realised that historical fiction could be a wonderful vehicle.  I was drawn to the period after 1066 because I’ve been fascinated by the Anglo-Saxon period since reading a Ladybird book about King Alfred at the age of eight or nine.  1066 was a disaster for ordinary people and I was drawn to writing about a time when their world was broken in this manner.  Many people in England still think that the country started when the Normans seized the kingdom, a propaganda coup which has lasted for a 1,000 years.

What do you most hate about your hero?

Tough question.  The hero of The Lost King series is Edgar, the young boy who was the rightful King of England and was proclaimed as such just after the Battle of Hastings.  He must have been an astonishing man and I look forward to writing about the rest of his life.  The one thing which gets me, and I didn’t intend this, is that he is sometimes overawed and overwhelmed by William the Conqueror.  It frustrates Edgar as well:  “I searched the pennants fluttering above the troops.  There, yes there, was William’s standard.  It towered above a forest of other flags, arrogant, assured, a spit in my eye.  My heart seemed to stall at the sight of it.  What hope did we have now that William here?”

You can find the full talks by following the links below.

Related articles

This Friday I’m talking with Robyn Young.

About Martin Lake

Martin Lake lives in the French Riviera with his wife. After studying at the University of East Anglia he worked as a teacher, trainer and company director. A serious accident shattered his arm and meant that he had to rein back his work. He decided to concentrate on writing and is now writing full-time. He writes a wide range of fiction. His main interests are historical fiction, short stories and fiction for young adults. Martin has a series of novels 'The Lost King' which are set in the years following the Norman Invasion of England. They concern Edgar Atheling, last representative of the ancient English royal dynasty and his fight to regain the throne from William the Conqueror. Martin has also published 'Artful' the further adventures of the Dodger and 'Outcasts' a novel about fall of the Crusader Kingdom of Jerusalem. His latest novel, 'A Love Most Dangerous' is about a maid of honour who becomes the lover of Henry VIII. Martin’s work has been broadcast on radio. He won first prize in the Kenneth Grahame Society competition to write a story based on 'The Wind in the Willows.' You can get the collection, 'The Wind in the Willows Short Stories' from Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

