Catch a Falling Star

Yesterday I went into a café which I had not visited before.  The waitress was a friendly, chirpy soul who immediately made me feel welcome and quickly took my order for coffee.

I have always found that I am very creative when I am in a café on my own.  Some of my best ideas have floated into my head without any effort or conscious thought.  This did not happen yesterday but I did begin to think about my writing career.

I have three novels already published, two in my ‘The Lost King’ series and ‘Artful’, about the continuing adventures of the Artful Dodger.  I have written a novel about the Kingdom of Jerusalem in the years when it fell to Saladin which is ready for editing.  The provisional title for this is ‘The Last Knights of Jerusalem.’

I am also writing the third instalment of The Lost King.  In the pipeline is a novel about the Vikings in America, the second in my Artful series and one set in the time of Ethelred and Canute.  On top of this there are my published and planned short stories and my sequel to The Wind in the Willows.

As I sipped at my coffee I decided that this is the way that I like to work.  Doing research for one novel, writing it, putting it on one side and then editing the novel which I have finished some time before.  Then researching and writing the next one, putting it aside and doing an edit of an earlier novel.

This gives me plenty of time to get distance between the writing of the novel and the editing, a distance which gives me perspective and greater objectivity.

As I decided that this was the pattern I should pursue from now on I felt something touch me on my hand.  At first I thought it was a drop of rain.  But when I looked I saw that it was a seed from the tree above my head.  I examined the seed and smiled.  It was in the shape of a star.  

More stars sprinkled themselves upon me and I took it as a good sign and put one in my pocket.  Then, of course, I thought of the Perry Como song:

Catch a falling star and put it in your pocket

Never let it fade away,

Catch a falling star and put it in your pocket

Save it for a rainy day.

 

For love may come and tap you on the shoulder

Some starless night

Just in case you feel you wanna hold her

You’ve got a pocket full of starlight.

 

Catch a falling star and put it in your pocket

Never let it fade away,

Catch a falling star and put it in your pocket

Save it for a rainy day.

 

For when your troubles starting multiplying

As well they might,

It’s easy to forget them without trying

With just a pocketful of starlight.

Words and Music by Lee Pockriss and Paul Vance

 I like stars, I like falling stars, I like to think that I’m storing up my writing for the future. 

About Martin Lake

Martin Lake lives in the French Riviera with his wife. After studying at the University of East Anglia he worked as a teacher, trainer and company director. A serious accident shattered his arm and meant that he had to rein back his work. He decided to concentrate on writing and is now writing full-time. He writes a wide range of fiction. His main interests are historical fiction, short stories and fiction for young adults. Martin has a series of novels 'The Lost King' which are set in the years following the Norman Invasion of England. They concern Edgar Atheling, last representative of the ancient English royal dynasty and his fight to regain the throne from William the Conqueror. Martin has also published 'Artful' the further adventures of the Dodger and 'Outcasts' a novel about fall of the Crusader Kingdom of Jerusalem. His latest novel, 'A Love Most Dangerous' is about a maid of honour who becomes the lover of Henry VIII. Martin’s work has been broadcast on radio. He won first prize in the Kenneth Grahame Society competition to write a story based on 'The Wind in the Willows.' You can get the collection, 'The Wind in the Willows Short Stories' from Amazon.
This entry was posted in A Simple Life, Artful Dodger, Publishing your ebooks, Riviera, The Lost King, Writer, Writing for e-books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

