Bob Dylan, Indie Writing and the Flight to Freedom

I love dreams and I had a fascinating one last night.

I dreamt that I was working in a school and was setting out seating prior to the arrival of a visiting speaker.  He was going to give some form of presentation to one of the classes; Steve Milward’s group.

After a while I found out that the visitor was Bob Dylan and went along with some other people to meet him. He was very affable and I told him that I had once met him when he performed with Rolf Harris.  He recalled the incident and said that he remembered meeting me then.

Bob Dylan (album)

Bob Dylan (album) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Dylan asked me what I was doing and I said that I was an indie writer and also trying to escape from this place which now began to seem rather less like a school and rather more like a Gulag.

‘I have the escape all planned,’ I told him.

The scene switched to where I was inspecting my fellow-escapees, all wearing fake uniforms, with Dylan looking on.  One skinny, forlorn-looking man with a beard was wearing carpet-slippers, or rather he was standing on the carpet-slippers with his feet attached to them by string.

We’ll never get away with him looking like that, I thought.  ‘I’m going to have to leave you behind,’ I told him.  ‘Otherwise the rest of us will never escaped.’

The man nodded, he understood, but there was tragedy in his eyes.

Dylan came across to me and told me I had done the right thing.  ‘It is the sign of real leadership to make tough decisions for the greater good,’ he said.  ‘In fact you can all come out with my party because it will be safer for you that way.’

And then I woke up.

So what does this dream mean to me?  In what ways was my unconscious trying to make sense of the world?

I used to teach in a school and taught Steve Milward’s tutor group.  It was to this class that I read my ‘The Guy Fawkes Contest’, my first short story, telling them it had been written by a friend.  They were silent as I read, something which rarely happened with them.  I saw that they were as enthralled as they had been by only two other stories, ‘To Light a Fire’ by Jack London and a story, I think it was called ‘Power’ about a child who frees a bird caught on an electricity wire.

I can write I thought, and this cemented my ambition to become a writer.

I was also a fan of Bob Dylan, having been told about him by my oldest friend, Brian who was then at Art College and is a very gifted artist.

As a child I loved Rolf Harris and ‘I’ve Lost My Mummy,’ was the first record I ever bought for myself.

I have never, to the best of my knowledge, been in a Gulag.

So what does it all mean?

My best guess is that it is my unconscious dealing with our leaving England and moving to France and with coming to terms with my new life as a writer.

About Martin Lake

Martin Lake lives in the French Riviera with his wife. After studying at the University of East Anglia he worked as a teacher, trainer and company director. A serious accident shattered his arm and meant that he had to rein back his work. He decided to concentrate on writing and is now writing full-time. He writes a wide range of fiction. His main interests are historical fiction, short stories and fiction for young adults. Martin has a series of novels 'The Lost King' which are set in the years following the Norman Invasion of England. They concern Edgar Atheling, last representative of the ancient English royal dynasty and his fight to regain the throne from William the Conqueror. Martin has also published 'Artful' the further adventures of the Dodger and 'Outcasts' a novel about fall of the Crusader Kingdom of Jerusalem. His latest novel, 'A Love Most Dangerous' is about a maid of honour who becomes the lover of Henry VIII. Martin’s work has been broadcast on radio. He won first prize in the Kenneth Grahame Society competition to write a story based on 'The Wind in the Willows.' You can get the collection, 'The Wind in the Willows Short Stories' from Amazon.
This entry was posted in Heroes, Moving to France, Writer, Writing for e-books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bob Dylan, Indie Writing and the Flight to Freedom

  1. Martin Booth’s ‘The Industry of Souls’ is a wonderful book – it came to mind after you mentioned the gulag. Interesting dream and analysis.

    • Martin Lake says:

      I was a friend of Martin’s. I have not read this book but will check it out. I started a book tag on Amazon for Martin’s books and would love it if you joined it to help boost his prescence.

      • Wow, is that auscpicious or what, that is my all time favourite book and if you know him, it adds another layer to your dream – because your dream made me think immediately of Martin Booth and this story. Read the book and discover all, it is brilliant and so accomplished. So sad that there will be no more. I will check out the book tag for sure, I keep giving this book away, but feel the need to reaquaint with it. Thanks for that Martin, a wonderful connection.

Leave a Reply

