Buriden’s Ass. What shall I write now?

I’ve just published my third novel, Artful, about the continuing story of the Artful Dodger.  Editing and improving it was a long, thought-provoking and instructive process.

I now have another novel ready for editing.  This is set in the last years of the twelfth century in the Kingdom of Jerusalem when it was being re-conquered by Saladin.  However, I would like a rest from editing so want to get my teeth into writing a new book.

The problem is I can’t decide which of my ideas to pursue.

I could write the third instalment of The Lost King series, write a follow-on to Artful, rewrite my Elizabethan spy novel or try my hand at a new era (I have several time periods in mind.)

I am like Buridan’s Ass/Donkey.  I am between two bales of hay and cannot decide which to eat.  I always thought this dilemma was one of Aesop’s Fables by the way.  Amazing what an educational tool the internet is.

(And what a time eater it can be.  I actually want to read the learned post  by Prof. Michael Hauskeller of the University of Exeter which can be found in the current issue of Philosophy Now.  http://www.philosophynow.org/issues/81/Why_Buridans_Ass_Doesnt_Starve.  But I will use my free will to continue with this post.  It’s a great find though!)

Anyway, where was I?

Oh yes.  I am in a dilemma.  I lie on my terrace thinking about the options for my next book.  I hope that inspiration will make me leap up and say, that’s the one.  If not I suppose I can always toss a coin or draw lots.

Or should I trust to fate on such a fateful day as The Ides of March?


About Martin Lake

Martin Lake lives in the French Riviera with his wife. After studying at the University of East Anglia he worked as a teacher, trainer and company director. A serious accident shattered his arm and meant that he had to rein back his work. He decided to concentrate on writing and is now writing full-time. He writes a wide range of fiction. His main interests are historical fiction, short stories and fiction for young adults. Martin has a series of novels 'The Lost King' which are set in the years following the Norman Invasion of England. They concern Edgar Atheling, last representative of the ancient English royal dynasty and his fight to regain the throne from William the Conqueror. Martin has also published 'Artful' the further adventures of the Dodger and 'Outcasts' a novel about fall of the Crusader Kingdom of Jerusalem. His latest novel, 'A Love Most Dangerous' is about a maid of honour who becomes the lover of Henry VIII. Martin’s work has been broadcast on radio. He won first prize in the Kenneth Grahame Society competition to write a story based on 'The Wind in the Willows.' You can get the collection, 'The Wind in the Willows Short Stories' from Amazon.
This entry was posted in Historical fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s