The Big School

I’ve just published a collection of short stories on Smashwords.  It will be available tomorrow on Kindle, all things going well.

It’s called The Big School.  Here’s something about it.

The Big School

For many little boys their big brother may be a hero or a villain.  For Malcolm Dunkley, however, his big brother is our Eric.  Plotter of plots, planner of escapades, Eric wages continual war against teachers, bullies and anyone else he thinks he can get the better of without them noticing.

Set in the years of the Baby Boomers, a period some may term innocence and others pandemonium, a time when adults were always alien and often the enemy, these stories will entertain young and old.

The stories concern the adventures of Eric Dunkley, a sharp-witted, incorrigible fifteen year old and his best friend Juddy.  They are narrated by his admiring but increasingly worldly-wise younger brother, Malcolm.

Litter is set in Malcolm’s first day at the Big School when he comes into conflict with the most notorious of the teachers, Mr McTavish.  This forces Eric to spring to defence of his little brother and seek McTavish’s come-uppance.

The Caps tells how the Headteacher tries to smarten the school up by making the boys wear caps.  In despair, the school turn to Eric who develops one of his most elaborate plots to reverse the decision.  And also, of course, to drop Mr McTavish right in it.

Drongo’s Mighty Conker tells of the annual conker fighting contest and how the most unlikely people are worth consideration.


About Martin Lake

Martin Lake lives in the French Riviera with his wife. After studying at the University of East Anglia he worked as a teacher, trainer and company director. A serious accident shattered his arm and meant that he had to rein back his work. He decided to concentrate on writing and is now writing full-time. He writes a wide range of fiction. His main interests are historical fiction, short stories and fiction for young adults. Martin has a series of novels 'The Lost King' which are set in the years following the Norman Invasion of England. They concern Edgar Atheling, last representative of the ancient English royal dynasty and his fight to regain the throne from William the Conqueror. Martin has also published 'Artful' the further adventures of the Dodger and 'Outcasts' a novel about fall of the Crusader Kingdom of Jerusalem. His latest novel, 'A Love Most Dangerous' is about a maid of honour who becomes the lover of Henry VIII. Martin’s work has been broadcast on radio. He won first prize in the Kenneth Grahame Society competition to write a story based on 'The Wind in the Willows.' You can get the collection, 'The Wind in the Willows Short Stories' from Amazon.
This entry was posted in Books, Short Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s