Rhythm

Two words I always struggle to spell correctly are yacht and rhythm.  It took me three attempts to write rhythm correctly and I gave up on yacht and used the spell checker.  (I’ve had to do it a second time already.)

When I was a child I saw a drawing of a yacht in a picture book and was captivated by it. I loved the idea of the tiny hull with the huge, graceful sail soaring above it.  Whenever we had rabbit stew I would fish out the rib-cage and pretend it was the remains of a dinosaur and another bone that looked like the sail of a yacht which I would hold aloft as I ran around the house. (We were not a rich family.) Now that I live on the French Riviera I delight to watch the yachts as they glide across the water.

But I did not come here to write about yachts. I came to write about rhythm and more specifically the rhythm of writing. By this I mean the stages of writing which I prefer to call rhythm.

In theory I write in these stages: 1. Research and Planning. 2. Write the book. 3. Edit. Nice, simple and neat.

But that’s not the reality. In practice I write more like this: 1. Research and Planning. 2.Write first draft and still carry on researching. I also edit throughout this stage as each morning I normally re-read what I’ve written the day before to iron out any errors, typos, characters changing names, shapes, personalities etc. 3. Edit and then 4. Rewrite.

So that’s one rhythm. It’s much more organic and fluid than the simple three-stage model I have in my mind before I start writing.

It’s the second aspect of rhythm which is much more tricky. This is because between stages 2. Writing and 3. Editing I like to rest the book. It gives me a break from the full-on writing stage and, even more importantly, gives me distance from what I’ve written so that I can come back to it with a fresher eye.

The difficulty is what to do in this period. Do I start a new novel? Or do I merely research a new novel and put this on hold while I go back and edit the one I’m ‘working on.’ This means that the new novel has an awfully long gap between Stage 1 and Stage 2.  Researching and writing a new novel means that there is an even longer gap between Stage 2 and Stage 3 of the previous novel.

I’ve tried both and even tried the straight through method although I don’t think this works as well or me as I need the break before I start doing an edit.

It’s a conundrum which I’m going through now as I’ve just finished writing the first draft of ‘Scarecrow Army’ (working title) and can’t stop thinking, researching and planning the second instalment of Alice Petherton.

Talking of which, I was playing with a Pinterest board for ‘A Love Most Dangerous’ and came across this picture: 220px-Nicolas_Bourbon,_by_Hans_Holbein

 

 

 

Now he’s a cool looking guy and he shouted at to me to use him in my new book. What will he think of Alice? And what will she think of him?

I’ve just found out that he may have been a poet called Nicholas Bourbon who went to Henry VIII’s court to thank him and Anne Boleyn for their help.

Now this is research by serendipity. I like it.

About Martin Lake

Martin Lake lives in the French Riviera with his wife. After studying at the University of East Anglia he worked as a teacher, trainer and company director. A serious accident shattered his arm and meant that he had to rein back his work. He decided to concentrate on writing and is now writing full-time. He writes a wide range of fiction. His main interests are historical fiction, short stories and fiction for young adults. Martin has a series of novels 'The Lost King' which are set in the years following the Norman Invasion of England. They concern Edgar Atheling, last representative of the ancient English royal dynasty and his fight to regain the throne from William the Conqueror. Martin has also published 'Artful' the further adventures of the Dodger and 'Outcasts' a novel about fall of the Crusader Kingdom of Jerusalem. His latest novel, 'A Love Most Dangerous' is about a maid of honour who becomes the lover of Henry VIII. Martin’s work has been broadcast on radio. He won first prize in the Kenneth Grahame Society competition to write a story based on 'The Wind in the Willows.' You can get the collection, 'The Wind in the Willows Short Stories' from Amazon.
This entry was posted in A Love Most Dangerous, Women in historical fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rhythm

  1. Martin, if you’ve got ideas in your head, you need to pursue them while they’re fresh. Don’t worry about what you ‘ought’ to do – go with the flow. You can do some research and leave yourself a note as to where you got to and what to do next. If your research inspires you to write, do the same. In between, do the editing. That way you’ve always got something exciting waiting for you.

Leave a Reply

