A New Year

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged. I’ve been in a  bit of a turmoil, trying out various ideas for new novels, discarding some ideas immediately, planning others, liking some of them enough to start them. I wrote 13,000 words for one and then gave it up; perhaps not permanently but for a while at least.

And then, in New Year’s Eve, my wife went into hospital. So it’s backwards and forwards to visit her and worry and anxiety. She’s on the mend, thank goodness. She should be back home in a couple of weeks.

Over the last few days, I’ve looked at a novel I’ve planned and realised that in order to make the best of it I needed to start it further back in time and start twenty years earlier. I’ve now conceived a grand, hopefully not grandiose, scheme. The novel is set two hundred years earlier than The Lost King. At the moment I am calling it The Long War.

By the way Resistance, Book 1 of the Lost King is available at $1.22, 75p and similar in other currencies.

Join my subscriber list for exclusive access to my stories, news and advance notice of my new releases.

It’s simple to sign up….. Just click on this link: http://eepurl.com/DTnhb and it will take you to a sign up form.

About Martin Lake

Martin Lake lives in the French Riviera with his wife. After studying at the University of East Anglia he worked as a teacher, trainer and company director. A serious accident shattered his arm and meant that he had to rein back his work. He decided to concentrate on writing and is now writing full-time. He writes a wide range of fiction. His main interests are historical fiction, short stories and fiction for young adults. Martin has a series of novels 'The Lost King' which are set in the years following the Norman Invasion of England. They concern Edgar Atheling, last representative of the ancient English royal dynasty and his fight to regain the throne from William the Conqueror. Martin has also published 'Artful' the further adventures of the Dodger and 'Outcasts' a novel about fall of the Crusader Kingdom of Jerusalem. His latest novel, 'A Love Most Dangerous' is about a maid of honour who becomes the lover of Henry VIII. Martin’s work has been broadcast on radio. He won first prize in the Kenneth Grahame Society competition to write a story based on 'The Wind in the Willows.' You can get the collection, 'The Wind in the Willows Short Stories' from Amazon.
This entry was posted in Heroes, Historical fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A New Year

  1. tigers68 says:

    Hi Martin…sorry to hear about your wife…glad she is on the mend. Like your new novel idea…hope it pans out :-)

  2. steam1912 says:

    I hope your wife makes a speedy recovery!

  3. Hi Martin, sorry to hear your wife’s been ill. Hope she’s completely better soon. It’s interesting to me to hear about your adventures in novel writing. I’ve started planning my next story whilst working on my current WIP. I’d like to have as many books out there as possible, preferably publish one a year. In theory.

    Anyway I’m always interested to hear how you’re getting on with your journey as a writer. I look forward to hearing more about it soon. :)

  4. Martin Lake says:

    Hi Elaine, thanks for your kind thoughts. Janine is making slow progress but I think she will be in hospital for several weeks yet.

    I’ve managed to write about 600 words today which is progress for me. So what do you have on the stocks?

    • Glad to hear your wife is slowly getting better Martin. I will keep her in my prayers.

      I’m currently working on another novel, a romance, which I hope to publish at some point this year. It’s about a young woman who attends a school reunion evening and what happens to her after that.

      Hope you get on well with your writing.

Leave a Reply

