“It was a dark and stormy night.”

“It was a dark and stormy night.”

This was the now infamous opening of ‘Paul Clifford’ the 1830 by Edward George Bulwer-Lytton.  It is, by the way, the inspiration for a Purple Prose Literary competition.  http://www.bulwer-lytton.com/

However, today I am more interested in the effect which the weather has on my writing.

Let me confess, I hate cold weather and especially the murky, rain-drenched skies of England.  So it’s no wonder that I have moved to the sunniest town of the French Riviera.

I like writing when the weather is foul and I can snuggle up with my characters and my keyboard.  So, it might seem to have been a bit of a mistake for me to have come to such a sunny and warm place.

Not so for I like to write in the fresh air, even in sunshine.  One of my lecturers at the University of East Anglia was Angus Wilson and he said that he loved to write in full sunshine; a statement which I can fully agree with.  (To my shame and regret I never went to any of his lectures which I later learned were superb.  He did bang into me and pour a cup of coffee over me once, however.)

So what’s to stop me writing in full sunshine? Two things. One, I can no longer read the scrawl which my hand-writing has degenerated into.  The second is that I much prefer to write on my lap-top and I cannot see the screen in sunlight.  Even with the blind down on the terrace it is virtually impossible to read.

I will have to come to some way of working in this wonderful climate.  Maybe I will have to get up in the small hours and pound away under the stars.  Now that sounds rather good.

About Martin Lake

Martin Lake lives in the French Riviera with his wife. After studying at the University of East Anglia he worked as a teacher, trainer and company director. A serious accident shattered his arm and meant that he had to rein back his work. He decided to concentrate on writing and is now writing full-time. He writes a wide range of fiction. His main interests are historical fiction, short stories and fiction for young adults. Martin has a series of novels 'The Lost King' which are set in the years following the Norman Invasion of England. They concern Edgar Atheling, last representative of the ancient English royal dynasty and his fight to regain the throne from William the Conqueror. Martin has also published 'Artful' the further adventures of the Dodger and 'Outcasts' a novel about fall of the Crusader Kingdom of Jerusalem. His latest novel, 'A Love Most Dangerous' is about a maid of honour who becomes the lover of Henry VIII. Martin’s work has been broadcast on radio. He won first prize in the Kenneth Grahame Society competition to write a story based on 'The Wind in the Willows.' You can get the collection, 'The Wind in the Willows Short Stories' from Amazon.
This entry was posted in Moving to France, Writer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

